Details about Australian Awards Scholarships commencing 2019

Australia Awards logo

Bhutan flag image 


Before submitting an application for an Australia Awards Scholarship, applicants MUST read both the Scholarships Policy Handbook and the Bhutan Country Profile.
All details about Australia Awards Scholarships are contained in the Handbook. Bhutan-specific information is contained in the Country Profile.

Details about Australia Awards Scholarships commencing 2019

What awards are available?

Australia Awards Scholarships are offered to applicants from Bhutan for study at Masters level in one of the priority fields of study agreed between RGoB and Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT). The study can be undertaken by coursework or by research, or a combination of the two. However, the maximum duration that DFAT will support a Master’s degree program is for two years.

What fields of study are available for study commencing in 2019?

The priority fields of study identified for study commencing in 2019 reflect the development needs of Bhutan and priorities agreed between the Australian Government and the Royal Government of Bhutan (RGOB). They align with the objectives of Australia's bilateral and regional aid programs.

Applicants must apply for only one field of study for which their parent agency nominates them. Applicants can submit more than one university preference in their application but not exceeding three preferences.

Applicants are encouraged to carefully consider study program and institution preferences before applying. The Australian Government and the RGOB will not entertain any changes to these after the application closing date.

Priority fields of study for applicants under the purview of the RCSC are found here.

Priority fields of study for applicants under the purview of the MoLHR are found here.